Here’s your problem.

The other day I received something in my work e-mail from the Vice President’s office about Biden’s meeting with representatives from the video game industry. I read more about it today. I don’t know what they’re hoping to find by going over this again. For that matter, I don’t know what anybody is hoping to do by re-visiting the gun control issue. We’ve been over this a million times. We come to the same conclusion each time. They are a factor, but not necessarily the factor, for why bad things keep happening.

I’m not necessarily against a little more regulation involving guns, or video games. If it is done right (that’s the hard part), I think it could help. However, there are other things out there that need a bit more attention; things that have probably come about because we’ve changed as a society. Things that don’t have such an easy fix. We’ve come a long way from the nuclear family of the 50’s, and we all know that was bunk, but I think maybe we’ve gone a little too far the other way.

I think perhaps now we’re exposed to too much negativity too often. We can get into the culture of violence discussion, and I won’t argue too much that violence does play a big part, but it has been like that for a long time, and we haven’t had these problems. Boys have always wanted to be soldiers. There have always been violent movies. However, now that we’ve thrown all this negativity into the mix, I think it is creating people who are more likely to act out.

I could name a lot of places this negativity comes from, but it really seems to seep from everything, from everywhere. It is almost a national sentiment. We’ve gone from feeling great in the 80’s, to feeling like dog-sh*t in about 20 years. People who felt like they didn’t have much to look forward have always been a little touchy. A little unstable. What do they have to lose? Usually those people came from really unfortunate backgrounds. Unfortunate circumstances. The life they lived didn’t have much to offer, or so they thought. Now that seems to be where a lot of people are, even if things are relatively good.

It isn’t necessarily true, mind you. If I stand back, and peer through the miasma, I really couldn’t tell you if things really are as bad as it seems. They’re probably not, relatively speaking What I can tell you is the miasma is coming from a lot of places.

My lousy regular ELO, and lack of new Dr. Who episodes is one of them.

Sometimes, I just feel like the walls trees are closing in!

hCFF16A9D
Naw. I just love this .gif.

Leave a Reply

