New Year’s resolution: sweat the small stuff.

This goes against traditional advice, but I don’t mean it in the traditional way. What I mean to say is; screw the big picture. The big picture, the worldwide stage, the national stage, is always a downer. It doesn’t change. Corporate and government greed. Lousy economies and violence. General bullp*ss.When was the last time you  turned on the news and saw something that you smile? How about the last time you opened the newspaper? How about the radio?

I originally wanted to do a story on what I wanted to see more of in 2013 in government. In worldwide affairs. In national affairs. I couldn’t think of anything. I couldn’t think of anything unless I thought of it in the context of what I wanted to see less of. There’s not a whole lot of good going on out there on a grand scale. There are, however, lots of little things going on out there. Little things were all I could think of.  I’d love to see more of these little things. Little things like volunteers helping hurricane victims. Little things like Internet charities that raise money in the name of small, colorful horses.   I’d love to see more people saving puppies.

I’d also like to see more of what I already enjoy in my life. Little things. Mundane things. Entertaining television. Good video games. Good beer. My dog. Why not? After all, these things probably have more of an impact on my life than anything going on elsewhere in the world.

I don’t think that we were meant to ever be global citizens. I don’t think we can handle it. We can barely handle living in a city together, let alone living with everybody else out there. The problems just get bigger, and our ability to deal with them as individuals diminishes. We do well in little groups. Little spheres of existence. While it is not a good idea to live entirely in your own little universe, unaware of things going on in the world, it is something entirely different to realize that the world immediately around you is where most of your pleasure, and pain, will come from.

Don’t stare too long at the big picture, or you’ll just hurt your eyes (its just a stupid schooner, anyway). You’ll have much better time if you just keep it in your peripheral field of vision while you focus on the things going on in your own life.

 

Leave a Reply

