To the Republican Party

Hi. I know we haven’t talked in a while. I think the last time was when I helped elect George W. in 2000. I just noticed you were feeling pretty bad after this last election, and I thought I might say “hello”, and offer you a few words of advice, if you’ll have them.

First, I wanted to say; we need you. I know this sounds weird coming from me, but we do need you. We need some of your ideas. Everybody knows I’m not a huge fan of parties in the first place.  Our problems are bigger than parties, but we both know how hard it is getting people together. I don’t think either party alone is up for the job, and I know two parties divided sure aren’t.

But you’ve got to make some changes.

I know you think you’re trying to be nice to some of those people that support you, but they really don’t have your best interest in mind. They’re dinosaurs. They’re relics from an era that didn’t even exist outside of their own experience. They came to power, like their fathers and their fathers before them, on the backs of people who are themselves ghosts of that age. An age when people didn’t have a chance to better their situation. There is nothing noble in accepting a fate that does not have to be, and good leaders don’t tell people that is the way they must live. Good leaders certainly don’t force them to live that way through their actions, either.

Don’t makes excuses for why you lost, either. Some of those dinosaurs are coming up with all sorts of ridiculous ideas about what the people “really” voted for, and are lamenting the loss of an era, and of ideals, that have always been works of fiction outside of their own lives. The fact is, your candidate, and those ideas he represented, simply weren’t acceptable to enough people. He was one of those dinosaurs. He also let too many of those crazy relatives talk about their crazy ideas for too long. He didn’t do himself any favors with his own words, either.

Don’t get me wrong. I’m not a huge fan of the other guys, either. I don’t even know if they have a plan for the next few years. I’m not talking about them, though. We can talk about that later. Right now I’m talking about you.

I think it is time for a new Republican Party to start. One that understands most people don’t believe in school book history anymore. One that doesn’t expect people to believe the good old days were really the good old days. Something a bit more moderate. One with ideals that a lot of republicans get get behind, but that don’t scare the sh*t out of everybody else. Yes, you’ll probably lose a lot of those core supporters on the far right,  but I think you’re candidate found out those core supporters weren’t as numerous as he had hoped. What you might gain is the the full support of people who believe in the other ideals the Republican Party stands for. You might even pick up some supporters that marginally supported the other guys because they just didn’t like your guy and his dinosaur friends.

 

Leave a Reply

