Wedding in the Wilds

I didn’t get lost in the wilderness, but I did get lost on the way. My friend’s wedding was being held at the Headlands, a few “cottages” located on the shore along the northwestern-most tip of Michigan. My ability to get lost while driving is legendary, but computers are rotten liars, and should never be completely trusted. Especially when operating a motor vehicle.

The Headlands was a nice place and it was a nice wedding; a simple little affair secluded in the woods along a beautiful coast. The weather couldn’t have been better, and the leaves had just begun to change. I haven’t been to a lot of weddings, but it seemed as close to perfect as you could get.  A nice place. About 100 friends and relatives. A short ceremony. An open bar.

The doves were nice too. I think one is probably still fluttering around there, somewhere.

The wilds and wild times are pretty good friends, but as far as I could tell, the reception was pretty tame.  Most of the guests had made their way to Mackinaw City hotels and those in the wedding party who had been medicating heavily all day had safely put themselves down for the night by about 10 p.m. Everybody else was left to dig through the remains of the bar. It was the first Tigers/Rangers game, and rabid Detroit fans gathered around handheld devices. There is no television in the woods. Eventually somebody started a bonfire for the rest of us to huddle around.

Only my nerves kept me from fully enjoying the evening. I hadn’t seen many of these people for quite some time, but despite this fact, I was on the fence about attending the wedding for several months. However, the bride and I had been friends for quite some time, even before grade school,  so I felt obligated to attend. It wasn’t that I didn’t want to go, it was that I seem to have developed a strange phobia of going anywhere and doing anything after several years of going nowhere and doing nothing. Five years doing something you hate with few real social outlets and even fewer people with which to share your real interests with do amazing things to people.

Wrist Violin Theater aside, I am glad I went, for a variety of reasons. It was great seeing old friends. I met some people as well.  I got to drink free beer.

I also learned a few things; if I don’t want to go crazy, I should probably go out more, mainly. I also learned it is impossible to tell whether or not you are listening to a Katy Perry song, because her “voice” is different for each one.

Also; the drive back was fantastic. The scenery along US 31 was amazing that weekend.


One comment on “Wedding in the Wilds

  1. jason says:

    Glad to hear you had an enjoyable time and that you were able to break free of your reclusive propensities. Your next adventure should be visiting your friend Jason in Virginia Beach who would gladly cover your travel expenses.

Leave a Reply

