Old News: Osama Bin Laden Dead

Don’t be fooled by the prefix; today I had planned to start a weekly post about the previous week’s  news-hole circus. However, something more interesting than actual news people with actual reputations  actually talking about Donald Trump actually running for president or some nerd trying to give “Mother Earth” the same rights as people came up.

Osama Bin Laden was declared dead.

Wow. Great. We finally got him.

That is my Ben Stein impersonation. Maybe I’m some kind of jerk.

Maybe  if, like in a movie or video game, his death meant the end of something wrong and the start of something right, I’d feel differently. It isn’t that the rotten bastard didn’t have it coming. It isn’t that I don’t care.  It’s just that I don’t think his death really changes anything.

I wonder what all of the people affected by events of September 11th think of this.  I also feel for all of the people, worldwide, who have had their lives irreversibly altered by the invasion and occupation of Iraq, along with the continued military operations in Afghanistan.  I appreciate the people who worked hard to find and put down one more jackass to make the world a little safer.

If they can find any joy or comfort in his death, I suppose it is a good enough reason to consider Osamas death a great victory.

Leave a Reply

